Sun's 35th Anniversary

Sun's 35th AnniversaryProfessional baseball has a long history in Hagerstown, dating back to 1915 when the Hagerstown Blues began playing. Over the years team affiliations have come and gone. Hagerstown’s baseball team was known as the Terriers, the Champs, the Hubs, the Owls, the Braves and the Packets.

In 1981 after a 26-year absence of professional baseball, the Suns came to Hagerstown. The team competed in the Class A Carolina League and won the league championship in its inaugural season.

The Hagerstown Suns’ affiliation has changed over the years – from the Baltimore Orioles (’82-’92) to the Toronto Blue Jays (’93-’00), the San Francisco Giants (’01-’04) and the New York Mets (’05-’06) - before becoming a member of the Washington Nationals farm system in 2007. Each of the five parent teams is represented by a star in the Suns 35th anniversary logo.